Skip navigation.


City of Turku

Turku is the oldest and fifth-largest city in Finland with 180,000 inhabitants in the city proper and 300,000 within the Turku area, the third-largest metropolitan area in Finland. Turku lies in the southwest corner of Finland, surrounded by the Turku archipelago, comprised of thousands of islands and small rocky islets. Turku and its surroundings offer a wealth of sightseeing opportunities: admire the archipelago from a cruise ship, visit the museums and the historical castle, or have a dinner in one of the famous boat restaurants on the Aura river, the heart of the city.

Turku has been designated by the European Union to be the European Capital of Culture in the year 2011 and positioned third in the 2007 European Smart Cities evaluation. Nearby Turku are the historical towns of Naantali and Rauma, the latter of which is part of the UNESCO world heritage.

Conference venue

SMBM'08 will be held in the ICT building (map), the city's largest center of information and communications technology research and education. The building is located in the heart of the Turku Science Park, an area that is host to three universities, the Turku university hospital, and hundreds of companies. The modern 34,000 square meter ICT building, completed in 2006, offers excellent facilities for scientific gatherings with its several large lecture halls, open, spacious lobby, and cafeteria.